• Follow Us: Facebook Twitter

MAL honors

Yeckley, Durbin earn player of the year awards

12:00 AM, Nov. 07, 2012 EST

Zach Yeckley broke every one of St. Joseph Central Catholic's single-season and career passing records en route to guiding the Crimson Streaks to their first outright Midland Athletic League title in 16 seasons.

Now, Yeckley can add MAL offensive player of the year honors to his ever-growing resume. Yeckley, a first-team selection at offensive back as well, passed for 2,230 yards and 29 touchdowns during the regular season on 151-of-271 passing (55.7 percent).

Corey Durbin was named specialty player of the year for the Crimson Streaks and first-team at offensive line. Durbin was part of an offensive line group that included first-team honoree Hunter Harrison at guard, that surrendered six sacks all season.

Marcus Kerr, who ran for 924 yards on 154 rushes and 10 TD's was a first-team selection at offensive back for SJCC. Jordan Sessler (45 catches, 641 yards, 14 TDs) was a first-team choice at wide receiver.

On defense, the Crimson Streaks placed four on the top team, led by linebacker Luke Stierwalt (88 solo tackles, 43 assisted tackles, 26 tackles for loss). Nick Militello (23 tackles, 26 assists, 4 1/2 sacks and 10 tackles for loss) was first-team on the defensive line, while Alex Veleba was first-team at defensive back.

"It was a very nice representation of the St. Joe football team," said Crimson Streaks coach Scott Knisely, the MAL coach of the year. "We had eight guys on the first team and five on the second team, which speaks volumes about how successful this team was this year."

Jacob Wurzel earned second-team honors on the offensive line for SJCC. Jake Yeckley was a second-team receiver.

The second-team defense featured Crimson Streaks' linebacker Bennett Weickert, and linemen Logan Hartley and Ryan Williams.

Matt Fox and Mitchell Gonya each received honorable mention.

Lakota's Tiger Jaso was a first-team selection at offensive back. The Raiders' Jordan Smith was second-team on the offensive line.

Earning honorable mention for Lakota were Koby Brewer and Brandon Carver.




Boys Basketball

No ranking data available for that gender / sport.