"You know, American football would be so much better if it featured more punting," said no one, ever.
The incredible double-punt-recovery-touchdown-play-thingy in the video above comes from a recent Winnipeg High School Football League game.
If Because you're confused about what exactly happened, we'll let Pep Rally explain:
"In a nod to rugby, Canadian football holds that on scrimmage kicks (i.e., punts and missed field goals), the returning team can respond by immediately punting the ball back to the other team, creating a free-for-all where whichever team gets to the ball first will retain possession."
Canada can keep its rouge, but try to convince me that we shouldn't adopt this rule immediately. What I would like to know is whether the team that initially punted the ball could have recovered its opponent's punt, punted it a third time and recovered. In other words, is a punt-punt-punt recovery touchdown possible?
If not, it should be.
(Thanks to Prep Rally for the heads up.)