• Follow Us: Facebook Twitter

Coshocton-area players get district football honors

12:00 AM, Nov. 12, 2012 EST

Coshocton's Tanner Cognion tries to find running room against West Holmes. Cognion was named first-team All-Eastern District. For more photos, visit www.coshoctontribune.com. / Tribune file photo


Some of the area's best high school football players have been honored by the Associated Press, which released its All-East District teams Monday.

The teams were picked based upon recommendations from a panel of voting media members within the district.

Coshocton's Tanner Cognion was a repeat performer on the Division IV defense as a first-team linebacker. He collected 105 tackles (five for loss), two sacks and two interceptions this season.

Teammate Saquore Harris, who had 805 yards rushing and 65 tackles with five sacks on defense, was a second-team pick at running back.

St. Clairsville receiver Dan Monteroso was Offensive Player of the Year and Cadiz Harrison Central linebacker Nick Pelegreen was Defensive Player of the Year in Division IV; St. Clairsville's Brett McLean was Coach of the Year.

River View, which finished 5-5, had senior defensive back Josh Knight make the first team and defensive lineman Nate Smith make the second team in Division III.

Clay Holsclaw, Dillon Shepler, Dylan Watters and Jon Barker were all special mention picks.

Division III Players of the Year were Dover quarterback Mason Mamarella and defensive lineman Demetrius Farmer. Maysville's Craig Clarke, a longtime Coshocton assistant who led the Panthers to their best record since 1994, was Coach of the Year.

In Division V, junior running back Garrett Bethel and senior lineman Chris Davidson are first-teamers, along with senior defensive back Dillion McPhearson.

Bethel ran for 762 yards and 11 touchdowns while collecting 78 tackles and four fumble recoveries.

Senior C.J. Grove was a first-team defensive lineman and Jeremy Shamael a second-team linebacker for the Generals; Alex Croston and Ryan Lowe were special mention.

Garaway quarterback Tyler Walter was Division V Offensive Player of the Year, while teammate Kellan Mutschelknaus was Defensive Player of the Year. Bellaire's Jose Davis, who led the Big Reds to the playoffs, was Coach of the Year.

Tri-Valley headlined the Division II team after its first 10-0 season in school history.

Senior quarterback Nathan Strock, who has committed to Kent State, shared Offensive Player of the Year honors with New Philadelphia junior running back Jamal Johnson.

Strock's classmate, linebacker Austin Jones, was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year, while Scotties coach Justin Buttermore was Coach of the Year.




Boys Basketball

No ranking data available for that gender / sport.