• Follow Us: Facebook Twitter

Cobb headlines the All-Gazette selections as Player of the Year

12:00 AM, Nov. 19, 2012 EST

On a team such as this, longevity counts.

Such was the case with the All-Gazette volleyball team. Westfall's deep run into the tournament, which landed the Mustangs two stops short of a state berth, made senior Olivia Cobb a clear choice for the newspaper's offensive Player of the Year.

Cobb, who also was the District 14 Coaches Association POY and the co-Player of the Year in the Scioto Valley Conference (along with Huntington's Jackie Kellough), was near the top of the SVC in assists and kills during the regular season. She also had a monster performance in the playoffs, including a 22-kill performance against Washington Court House in the district final.

Each team in the Gazette's coverage area was given two spots on the first team, and as many as two more spots on the honorable mention list. The list was decided after a discussion of Gazette writers.

Cobb was joined on the first team by teammate Kayla Tackett, while Hannah Phillips and Sara Link were honorable mentions.

The noise Chillicothe made this year made it hard to look past the Cavaliers for individual honors. Chillicothe, which finished 10-0 in the Southeastern Ohio Athletic League and advanced to the district championship game in Division I, was represented by seniors Maddi Glendenning and Hayley Robinson on the first team, with Katelyn Martin and Parisa Bennett making the cut as honorable mentions.

Back to the SVC, Kellough was picked for the first team, along with teammate Alayna Lytle -- the conference's Defensive Player of the Year. Hallie Ingram and Dylana Gragg each made the list as honorable mentions.

Conference champion Zane Trace put Hayley Carle and Kylan Strausbaugh on the first team, with Delaney Spetnagel and Jillian Pontius making the cut as honorable mentions.

Adena's tough year ended better than many expected, and Jenny Grigsby and Bridgette Scaggs each made the Gazette's first team. They were joined in the postseason awards by honorable mention selections Alyssa Kennedy and Kirsten Dawson.

Southeastern's Emily Dresbach made the first-team list, along with teammate Morgan Jones, with Maddie Arledge on the honorable mention team. Unioto's Alexis Overly and Halle White were both first-team selections, while Piketon's Aheah Pelphrey and Kalen Jenkins were both first-teamers, with Payton Reuter on the honorable mention team. Paint Valley's Taylor Baker and Emily Bales were first-team selections for the Bearcats, with Josie Lott getting the nod as an honorable mention for her strong year as a setter.

For Waverly, which was strong in the Southern Ohio Conference this year, the Tigers put Kala Hall (the SOC Player of the Year) on the first-team list, along with teammate Bri Wiget. Hannah Martin and Kayla Riffe were both selected as honorable mentions.




Boys Basketball

No ranking data available for that gender / sport.