• Follow Us: Facebook Twitter

All-Gazette team: Piketon QB Brabson named Offensive Player of the Year

12:00 AM, Nov. 18, 2012 EST

Westfall's Trent Williamson tries to deliver a pass over a Milton-Union defender. / Brent Lewis/Gazette


November makes a difference.

At least it did in the Gazette's internal postseason awards for the 2012 football season.

Piketon quarterback Isaac Brabson was named as the Gazette's Offensive Player of the Year after he led the Redstreaks to Week 12 of the season with his combination of run-and-pass threats.

Westfall's Trent Williamson was close in the process. The Mustangs' senior quarterbacked his team to a Scioto Valley Conferencetitle and a home game in the playoffs, and earned a spot as the co-SVC Back of the Year (along with Brabson) and as the co-Division IV District Offensive Player of the Year (along with Ironton's Patrick Lewis). But Brabson won out, with his play getting better and better as the season wore on. The Piketon senior threw for more than 2,000 yards, ran for more than 400 (all in the regular season), and accounted for 23 all-purpose touchdowns.

On the other side of the ball, the choice was a simpler. Unioto's John Vanderpool, who had a whale of a year on offense with 16 rushing TDs and more than 1,400 yards rushing and receiving. But his numbers on defense -- seven interceptions, four for touchdowns and 42 tackles -- pushed him over the top.

As for the Gazette's selection procedure, each team -- all eight SVC schools, along with Chillicothe and Waverly -- was given two spots on the first team, with the rest filling in the honorable mention list, and was decided by a discussion of Gazette writers. This led to some tough decisions, starting with the Shermans.

Vanderpool was a no-brainer on the first team, but linemen Brandon and Derek Hinkle probably were too, along with junior linebacker Ryan Spencer. But, with only one spot left on the Gazette's first team after Vanderpool, Spencer got the nod, with the Hinkle brothers each getting a spot on the honorable mention list.

For the Cavaliers, quarterback Ryan Mathis and running back Julius Lee made the first team, with WR/DB Adam Bixler, LB Tyler Kelley and lineman Josh Leonard all making the cut at honorable mention. For the Cavaliers, every name on the Gazette's postseason team is an underclassman, except for Bixler, as the team continues to rebuild.

Back to the SVC, Williamson was an easy fit for the Gazette's first team from Westfall, and was joined there by fellow senior Doug Hardin. Mustangs seniors Luke Cline, Ross Berger, Cody Schmitzer and Jake Ruoff each made the honorable mention list.

Along with Brabson from Piketon's list, Jeremy Farmer was an easy first-teamer. After a 100-plus tackle season on defense, Farmer came on strong at the end of the year on offense. Defensive end Colten Williams also made the list, along with seniors Evan Ferguson, Ryan Accardo and Coaz Bowman, who all made honorable mention.

Paint Valley's Quentin Tesi and Mark Clifford were each first-teamers, with Nate Yoakum and Dakota Morgan, along with safety Teagan McFadden all on the honorable mention list.

Huntington's turnaround season left a lot of possible honorees in the postseason awards, but do-everything guys Brice Vickers and Logan Chaney led the way. Vickers had 708 yards passing and 1,001 yards rushing, while Chaney had five receiving touchdowns, three TDs as a kick returner, and also excelled as the Huntsmen's punt returner, punter and place kicker. To round out his season, he also added five defensive touchdowns. Also for the Huntsmen, Jacob Hooks, Austin Dyer and David Shoemaker each made the honorable mention list.

For Adena, Ryan Wells -- another do-everything player in the SVC -- was a first-teamer, along with lineman Trenton Bartley. Devante Nesbitt was the Warriors' honorable-mention selection. For Zane Trace, freshman Truman Love made the first-team cut, along with senior Hunter Hardman. Collin Swackhammer was as an honorable mention selection, along with Nate Mettler. Southeastern's first-team selections were Travis Abner and Jordan Allen.

In Waverly, QB Trevon Bolin-Hitchens made the list as a first-teamer, along with kicker Willie Bevens.




Boys Basketball

No ranking data available for that gender / sport.