• Follow Us: Facebook Twitter

Kentucky Football POY: Damien Harris

For a list of the other Gatorade State Football POYs, click here.

THE WINNER: Damien Harris


School: Madison Southern (Berea, Ky.)
Grade: Junior
Position: RB
Height: 5-foot-11
Weight: 205 pounds

Athletic achievement: He rushed for 2,621 yards and 42 touchdowns on 220 carries this past season, leading the Eagles to a 10-2 record and the Class 5A quarterfinals. A MaxPreps sophomore All-American, Harris was also the District Player of the Year and a Courier-Journal Second Team All-State selection. He is rated as the nation’s No. 20 recruit in the Class of 2015 by ESPN.

Academic excellence: Harris has maintained a B average.

Exemplary character: A devoted member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, he has volunteered locally on behalf of youth football camps and drug awareness initiatives.


“Damien Harris is the best running back I’ve seen in 18 years as a head coach in Kentucky,” said Mike Settles, head coach at Lincoln County (Stanford, Ky.). “His combination of strength, speed and work ethic is tremendous.”

THE FUTURE: Harris will be a senior next fall.



2013-14 National Winners

  • Read More

    Boys Basketball POY

    St. Joseph High (Metuchen, NJ) senior Karl Towns Jr. named the Gatorade National Boys Basketball Player of the Year.

  • Read More

    Girls Basketball POY

    Manvel (Texas) senior Brianna Turner named the Gatorade National Girls Basketball Player of the Year.

  • Read More

    Football POY

    Oscar Smith (Chesapeake, Va.) defensive tackle Andrew Brown named Gatorade National Football Player of the Year.

  • Read More

    Volleyball POY

    Assumption High (Louisville, Ky.) setter Alexa Filley named Gatorade National Volleyball Player of the Year.

  • Read More

    Boys XC ROY

    Grand Blanc (Mich.) distance runner Grant Fisher named Gatorade National Boys XC Runner of the Year. 

  • Read More

    Girls XC ROY

    Camas (Wash.) junior Alexa Efraimson named the Gatorade National Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year.

2013-14 State Winners