• Follow Us: Facebook Twitter

Iowa Boys Soccer POY: Mueng Sunday

THE WINNER: Mueng Sunday


School: Iowa City (Iowa) West
Grade: Senior
Position: Defensive midfielder
Height: 5-foot-9
Weight: 170 pounds

Athletic achievement: He the Trojans to a 12-1 record entering this week’s regular-season game against Jefferson (Cedar Rapids, Iowa), scheduled for May 13. Sunday scored two goals and passed for six assists and led a defense that had allowed only four goals during the team’s first 13 games -- just one in the past nine. A 2012 Class 3A First Team All-State selection, he has helped lead Iowa City West to back-to-back Class 3A state championships.

Academic excellence: Sunday has maintained a 3.97 GPA.

Exemplary character: A member of the National Honor Society, he has volunteered locally as a youth soccer coach.


“Mueng Sunday has the most influence on the game of anyone,” said Steve Robertson, head coach of Kennedy (Cedar Rapids, Iowa). “Not many times in your pre-game talk to your team do you talk about having to stop a defensive midfielder, but that is what he can do if you don’t account for him.”

THE FUTURE: Sunday has signed with Drake University.



2013-14 National Winners

  • Read More

    Boys Basketball POY

    St. Joseph High (Metuchen, NJ) senior Karl Towns Jr. named the Gatorade National Boys Basketball Player of the Year.

  • Read More

    Girls Basketball POY

    Manvel (Texas) senior Brianna Turner named the Gatorade National Girls Basketball Player of the Year.

  • Read More

    Football POY

    Oscar Smith (Chesapeake, Va.) defensive tackle Andrew Brown named Gatorade National Football Player of the Year.

  • Read More

    Volleyball POY

    Assumption High (Louisville, Ky.) setter Alexa Filley named Gatorade National Volleyball Player of the Year.

  • Read More

    Boys XC ROY

    Grand Blanc (Mich.) distance runner Grant Fisher named Gatorade National Boys XC Runner of the Year. 

  • Read More

    Girls XC ROY

    Camas (Wash.) junior Alexa Efraimson named the Gatorade National Girls Cross Country Runner of the Year.

2013-14 State Winners